blisterpackzine

Meet the Candidate: Michele Bachmann

In Current News, Politics, Presidential Candidates on August 15, 2011 at 2:26 pm

It’s not classified information that Congresswoman Michele Bachmann of Minnesota (R) is vying for the presidency. However, what she does seem to want to keep classified is the way in which she presents her views and beliefs. This morning on Meet the Candidate with David Gregory on MSNBC, Bachmann was obviously uncomfortable as Gregory grilled her on her political past. He mentioned quite a few instances in which she had denounced gays and lesbians, stated that a wife must be submissive to her husband, etc. Unsurprisingly, however, Bachmann dodged the many questions she was asked about these instances, and, instead, answered each question with a sharp, “I’m running for the president of the United States,” or “I don’t judge”.

 

Take a look for yourself:

 

 

I’m going to be honest: this year is the first year I’m actually keeping up with the presidential nominees and race (mainly because I will be able to vote soon) and I am shocked at the people who are trying to run our country. First and foremost, however, I’d like to get to know each candidate individually, because, no matter how publicized presidential debates are, each candidate is not always asked the same question nor am I always able to quite understand their point of view. Because of this, I really appreciate sit-down talks with the presidential hopefuls.

Moving on. After everything I’ve read, seen and heard of Michele Bachmann, especially what has directly come out of her mouth, I must say that I am not at all happy with her view/take on things nor would I ever want to see her become our president. Why? Let me count the ways. (Let me just make a note that these are my opinions based on what research I have done. Go ahead and form your own opinions. No one is stopping you, I promise.)

1. She Is Prejudiced Against People Who Do Not Share Her “Views” 

While she did not say outright that she would never appoint an openly gay person or atheist to her cabinet were she to be elected president, it was obvious in the way that she dodged questions relating to that subject that she would never let that happen. Bachmann is notorious for her “anti-gay” political standpoint due to her dubbing them sexually dysfunctional and calling their lives “sad” and  “dangerous” [EdWatch National Education Conference November 6, 2004]. I find it hard to have faith in a candidate who wants to become president of the United States of America and yet is against a large group of Americans. Bachmann sure likes to preach about how many politicians are “anti-American”, but what can get more anti-American than that?

Minus ten points for Bachmann.

2. She Does Not Want to Understand Separation of Church and State

It is more than understandable to me that one’s religion would influence one’s decisions and outlook on life. Many a politician use God and the Bible as a guide and an example in their quest to best lead their constituents. Fine, I get it (I’d like to add how weird it is to me that in this great country of ours in which we are allowed to express and follow any religion we desire so long as it does not violate any other American’s rights, I have yet to see a politician that does not identify him- or herself under the large umbrella of Christianity). However, that is no reason to force those religious ideals onto the American public. There has always been a fine line for politicians between what they believe in (in the religious sense) and how they use those beliefs to shape the American government. Bachmann completely chooses to ignore that line and intermingle her faith and political views.  Yes, I know that our country still has things to work out regarding this issue; we still have “Under God” etched in several governmental edifices. But whether we feel that we are united as a country “Under Your God”, “Under My God”, “Under Their God”, or “Under No God”, it is still an-individual-of-this-country”s choice, and I believe that a politician, much less a presidential candidate has the right to tell the American people otherwise.

Minus another 10 points for Bachmann.

3. She Doesn’t Understand the Difference Between Submission and Respect

Bachmann was quoted giving a speech in Brooklyn Park on October 14, 2006 saying, “My husband said, ‘Now you need to go and get a post-doctorate degree in tax law.’ Tax law! I hate taxes – why should I go and do something like that? But the Lord said,  ‘Be submissive, wives, you are to be submissive to your husbands.'” Gregory asks her if this is her “vision for women in America”. Bachmann goes on to say that “Submission, that word, means respect. It means that I respect my husband and he respects me.”

For those of you who are skeptical, let me give a definition of both words:

(definitions from http://www.dictionary.reference.com )

 

sub·mit [suhb-mit] verb (used with object)

1. to give over or yield to the power or authority of another(often used reflexively).

2. to subject to some kind of treatment or influence.

re·spect [ri-spekt] noun

1. a particular, detail, or point (usually preceded by in ): to differ in some respect.
2. relation or reference: inquiries with respect to a route.

3. esteem for or a sense of the worth or excellence of a person, a personal quality or ability, or something considered as a manifestation

of a personal quality or ability: I have great respect for her judgment.

4. deference to a right, privilege, privileged position, or someone or something considered  to have certain rights or privileges; proper acceptance or courtesy; acknowledgment: respect for a suspect’s right to counsel; to show respectfor the flag; respect for the elderly.

5. the condition of being esteemed or honored: to be held in respect. 

See the difference? Of course I don’t honestly believe that Bachmann does not know the difference between these two words. But she trapped herself in this one. Either she twisted the truth when speaking to David Gregory by saying that “they mean the same thing” or she sincerely does not know the difference between these two words. I’ve had enough of lying politicians and I certainly do not want a president who doesn’t know the differing definitions of these two words.

Minus yet another 10 points for Bachmann.

———-

The list could go on and on. All-in-all, if Michele Bachmann just stuck by her beliefs and actually answered yes-or-no questions with a yes or a no, maybe she would be a better candidate (of course, which candidate ever really answers a yes-or-no question with a yes or no? I’m just saying). I still wouldn’t agree with her, but at least she would stay true to herself, her family, and what she believes the future of America should be. Quite frankly, I don’t see Bachmann as a strong or smart fit for the future of American government.

 

I rest my case.

 

 

by, Monica Garza

  1. Great article, this is really a cool blog you guys have going.

    I completely agree with you. What annoys me the most though is her talk against big government while she stands for such authoritarian ideals. She would impose her moral law on the American people.

    Not only that but she is also a little creepy/crazy. She goes on and on about how she is was a tax litigation attorney like it was such a righteous thing. She essentially served as a tax collector. She went to court to take money AWAY from people.

    Also, you might find this funny: http://content.usatoday.com/communities/onpolitics/post/2011/08/michele-bachmann-soviet-union-/1?csp=34news [+]

    • We thank you for your support!

      And I agree with you on that as well. She talks up how she wants to uphold the Constitution but would rather replace laws she doesn’t agree with with her own ideals.

      That link, by the way, was so full of hilarity that it’s depressing how serious she is.

      Monica

Leave a Reply

